Header Catrina

Anneke Levelt Sengers Prize
Women for Science in Americas - 2018 
The IANAS Women for Science Program will offer a prize that encourages and recognizes the efforts of young women scientists from the following countries: Bolivia, Caribbean (Caribbean Academy of Sciences or Caribbean Scientific Union), Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, Ecuador, Uruguay 
The Prize is named after Anneke Levelt-Sengers, in recognition of her outstanding work promoting and recognizing the role of women scientists in Latin America, North America and the Caribbean. This Prize will be coordinated by IANAS, with financial support from TWAS-ROLAC and the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. 

Carmen Samayoa

Professor María del Carmen Samayoa, from Guatemala and president of the Guatemala Academy of Medical,Physical and Natural Sciences, is Biochemical specialist with a Masters degree in Toxicology . She has dedicated her career to Applied Research. As a result of that, she has presented 89 publications in International Scientific Journals. She has also made two chapters in food storage book. Is also a Committee member of COGUANOR (for accreditation of laboratories), and laboratory auditor for ISO 17025.As a teacher, she has worked in two of the most distinguished universities of Guatemala. Active member of the National Council of Science and Technology. In the present, she is a member of ICSU Regional Committee for Latin America and the Caribbean. Secretary of the Caribbean Scientific Union Board, and member of the Executive Committee of IANAS.