Anneke Levelt Sengers Prize
Women for Science in Americas - 2018 
The IANAS Women for Science Program will offer a prize that encourages and recognizes the efforts of young women scientists from the following countries: Bolivia, Caribbean (Caribbean Academy of Sciences or Caribbean Scientific Union), Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, Ecuador, Uruguay 
The Prize is named after Anneke Levelt-Sengers, in recognition of her outstanding work promoting and recognizing the role of women scientists in Latin America, North America and the Caribbean. This Prize will be coordinated by IANAS, with financial support from TWAS-ROLAC and the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. 

WfS-WG Actions

WfS-WG is developing action plans in its areas of focus:

    1. Networking
      • * Within IANAS: cross-cut with all other programs.
      • * Liaisons to IANAS programmes.
      • * Use the WfS focal points network to stimulate academies to form WfS committees that can transform the institutional culture.
      • * Collaborate with global and regional organizations that specialize in women's capacity building: UNESCO, Gender Advisory Board - Commission on Science and Technology for Development, Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD), women scientists' networks in Latin America and the Caribbean.
      • * With OWSD, and based on a needs assessment by all focal points, develop the content for this web site, built up gradually in a modular way, beginning by linking to relevant resources and organizations.
  • 2. Visibility of women scientists
  • Focal points help IANAS academies to reform institutional culture to include women.
    • Biographies of women scientists in the IANAS countries.
    • * Awards for women graduate students and scientists: IANAS-OWSD Prize
    • * Encourage organizations, governments and companies to establish awards, fellowships and prizes.